Clinical Trials & Research Studies

This chart is a summary of all actively enrolling studies. To see detailed descriptions of condition-specific research studies and clinical trials, please visit these links:

Alzheimer's Disease

Research StudyEligibilityContact Person
Emory Alzheimer's Disease Research Center Honor Research Registry
Longitudinal study of changes in memory and other cognitive skills
  • Aging people with no memory problems
  • People of any age with MCI, Alzheimer's disease or other forms of dementia
  • Willing to participate in additional research studies
  • Study partner available to participate in visits
Erin Carter
erin.carter@emory.edu
404-712-6838
ADMET-2
Study to treat apathy in AD
  • Diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease
  • Study partner available for all visits
Anna Cate Thomas
anna.catherine.thomas@emory.edu
404-712-6914
ADNI-3
Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative
  • Age 55-90
  • Healthy controls/Diagnosis of MCI/AD
  • Study partner available for all visits
Becky Byram
rbyram@emory.edu
404-712-0195
BAN2401-301: Clarity
A 18 month infusion study to confirm safety and efficacyof BAN2401 in Subjects with Early Alzheimer's Disease
  • Diagnosis of MCI due to AD or mild AD
  • 50-90 yrs old
  • Study partner available for all visits
  • Willing to undergo MRI & PET scans
Michelle Wiles
mkwiles@emory.edu
404-778-0664
EMERALD
Montelukast Therapy for Alzheimer's disease
  • Early (prodromal to mild) AD
  • 50 years of age or older
  • Please contact study coordinator for other criteria
Shakyra Tyus
shakyra.d.tyus@emory.edu
404-712-6332

Emory Healthy Aging Study
Longitudinal study of aging
  • 18 years of age or older
  • Read and speak English fluently
Luke Maschinot
luke.j.maschinot@emory.edu
404-727-1338
EXERT
Study of effects of aerobic exercise on cognition
  • Diagnosis of Mild Cognitive Impairment
  • 65-89 years of age
Morgan Hecker
morgan.hecker@emory.edu
404-712-4463
GRADUATE
This is a Phase III, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of gantenerumab in patients with early (prodromal to mild) AD.
  • Early (prodromal to mild) AD
  • 50 years of age or older
  • Please contact study coordinator for other criteria
Deborah Westover
dwestov@emory.edu
404-712-6807

Aaron Milloy
aaron.m.milloy@emory.edu
404-712-6855
HEART
8-month study of an FDA-approved blood pressure medicine in the African-American population.
  • African-American
  • 45 years and older
  • Have or did have a parent with dementia
Danielle Verble
danielle.d.verble@emory.edu
404-712-7085
Memory and Aging in African Americans and Caucasians
  • Age 55 - 90 with no memory problems or MCI or mild Alzheimer's
  • Study partner available for all study visits
  • Willing to have imaging & lumbar puncture
William Hu
wthu@emory.edu
404-727-4174

Monica Parker
monica.willis.willis-parker@emory.edu
404-727-0648
Tele-Savvy
A 6-week free on-line education program for informal caregivers
  • Primary caregiver for a loved one with Alzheimer's or other dementia
  • Access to a home computer with an internet connection
Ken Hepburn, PhD
khepbur@emory.edu
404-712-9286

Rachel Nash
rachel.nash@emory.edu
404-727-2413